• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

SST A41 Vs. 727 with Gear Vendor

DJOHAGIN

Reaction score
Wanting to find out what you guys think between using a SST A41 or going with a 727 with a Gear Vendor overdrive unit. I like the simplicity of no electronics with the 727 with GV, but is the A41 a better overall trans? This would be behind a 543. Thanks for any insight.

Dave

MoparCarGuy

Reaction score
I debated for a long time about an overdrive automatic conversion or adding a GV to a 727. My final decision was to go to a TKX 5-Speed manual with pistol grip shifter. No tunnel issues, no kickdown linkage, and the best looking shifter ever made for a muscle car.
I am just getting started with the buying all of the items needed. Manual tunnel, carpet, shifter/boot, etc. but have not ordered the SST TKX kit as of yet.

Might be an option for your car.

Mopar Nut

Reaction score
If you’re not in a rush, SST has sales usually this time of the year.

Xcudame

Reaction score
If you want an automatic, I see now that GV sales overdrives for the short shaft 727 that were on 4x4 trucks with the divorced transfer case. This makes the overall transmission shorter than the long 727 tail shaft with a GV over drive.

JDMopar

Reaction score
I put a Gear Vendor OD in a 71 Challenger with a 727 and 3.55's. 2600 rpm @ 70 mph. It took a lot of beating the tunnel with a BFH to get it to fit. The OD ratio isn't that great on GV, but it's better than nothing. Next time, I will install a 518 for the better OD ratio.

Xcudame

Reaction score
I'm working on (one of numerous projects) putting a JW bell housing for a big block onto a 518 four speed. Using grade 9 5/16 bolts for the front pump/bell housing. Grade 9 bolts are very strong!

JDMopar

Reaction score