• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

318 LA Build specs

RB.Challenger73

Reaction score
Before i start about the engine specs i wanne say that i got a number matching car. I'm not engine swapping the car or replacing the trans. I'm Dutch so be gentle if i make mistakes English isn't my first language. Also i'm quite new to american cars and i don't much about specs.

History
The engine is getting rebuild and fully cleaned and inspected, but i wanne add some hp to make it more impressive to drive. I drove the car a couple of times and find out the car was running gd on 6 cilinders. So after the rebuild and added parts i'm sure it would run way better then i'm used 2.

Goal
I'm ranging for 300hp, i see topics and builds for 400hp but the car is getting used for fun street drives.

Components

Pistons:

kb167ktm

Intake manifold:
Edelbrock performer RPM 7576

Carb
Edelbrock performer 1406 600cfm

Cam
Edelbrock performer rpm cam and lifter kit 7177

Headers:
Summit Racing™ Metallic-Ceramic Coated Headers SUM-G9140

Are the listed components a good combination for a 318 la to reach 300hp/400hp? And is it reasonable with a standard 727 trans.

Chryco Psycho

Reaction score
I would start with none of the Above parts !

Use a Forged piston Not the KB Hyperutectic , make sure you increase the compression .

A better intake is the LD4B which has the smaller ports to match the 318 heads . or the stock 340 intake is good also although the port size is different , you can port the entrance of the intake port to aid flow into the head .

The 1406 carb is junk & doesn't work well on Mopars & is not easily tuned , a better choice is the Holley 400 CFM 4 bbl or the Holley Avenger 570 CFM .

For the cam I would use a smaller Lunati VooDoo series , they are a far better choice for power & drivability we can help you pick a good one to match the converter you want to use .